St. Joseph’s Institution (SJI) has opened a new heritage gallery, in commemoration of Singapore's bicentennial year and the Tercentenary1 of the Founder of the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools – St. John Baptist de La Salle. Named Missio 1852, the gallery showcases 167 years of Josephian history and Lasallian heritage, tradition and community in Singapore. This project is supported by the National Heritage Board and the Singapore Bicentennial Office.
Founded by the De La Salle Brothers in 1852, St. Joseph’s Institution (SJI) is an independent Catholic school, whose mission is to nurture students to learn how to learn and to learn how to live, so that they can be empowered to grow into men and women of integrity and men and women for others. For over 167 years, SJI has nurtured thousands of men and women who have served the society locally and globally. Missio 1852 celebrates the contributions and achievements of the school and of these alumni who have served the society in different ways throughout the century.
The highlights of Missio 1852 include:
Profiles of distinguished Josephians – Thousands of illustrious Josephians have graduated from the gates and halls of SJI since 1852. Amongst them include Former 7th President Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam, DPM Teo Chee Hean, Mr Philip Yeo, Prof Leo Tan Wee Hin, Prof Jeremy Monteiro, Justice Chan Seng Onn, whose profiles are featured in Missio 1852.
The Brothers’ Logbook – The La Salle Brothers meticulously kept annual logbooks such as these, detailing notable events like inter-school competitions, important visitors to the school, spiritual bouquets and civics group meetings. It was the practice for the Brother Director to keep a diary/logbook to record key events throughout the school year, to help him when he prepares the annual report to be sent to Rome.
The Founder’s Banner – As part of the school’s emphasis on rituals and symbolism, this Founder’s banner was frequently used in events like the celebration of the apparition ofour Lady of Fatimah in the 1950s. Out of the traditional three banners used, only this one remains. These banners were originally stored away in a camphor wood chest in the Brothers’ Quarters.
The Grandfather Clock that has survived the Japanese Occupation – This clock once stood on the verandah of the Brothers' House and called all therein to prayers and class. During WWII, shrapnel damaged the clock and the marks have been preserved in its restoration. Holes on both sides indicated where shrapnel entered the clock, hit the back of the pendulum and exited on the opposite side.
Missio 1852 is open to SJI students and staff members during school hours during term time. Visit www.sji.edu.sg for details.
Blue Ocean Art is an art concept that is focused on delivering investment grade art works from all around the world to their clients and investors. Visit their newly-opened Blue Ocean Fine Art Gallery at Marina Square to find a unique piece to start or add to your art collection.
Featured in the listing picture here is a piece from artist Liu Yujun åçå.
In Liu Yujun's painting series entitled Unidentified Liquid, he has created paintings of Chinese beautiful women. Liu Yujun carefully includes images of blue liquid in a various form in his works. The images of the blue liquid seems to be mysterious and ambiguous as it has no connection with the images of beautiful women. The blue liquid symbolises a sense of insecurity.
Check out his works at Blue Ocean Fine Art Gallery.
Opening in 2021, the new theatre will fill the gap between Esplanade’s large venues and smaller studio spaces, and enable the national arts centre to further support future generations of artists and arts groups to create new works that tell Singapore and Asian stories and widen its engagement with various communities.
Esplanade is also launching a series of new fundraising initiatives, which are designed for a spectrum of supporters, from the general public, to philanthropists and foundations.
In celebration of the development of the new theatre, Esplanade and its Mall tenant Makansutra Gluttons Bay have jointly organised The Food Stage, a special street food experience that features exclusive off-menu items such as 4 Cheese Murtabak, Carrot Cake“Fries” with BBQ Wings, Laksa Seafood Stew, Soft Shell Crab Mui Fan and many more. Makansutra has also pledged a donation of $100,000 to Esplanade which will go towards Singtel Waterfront Theatre.
Please click here for details on the fundraising initiatives and more information about this project.
Founded by designer and artist pair Max Shen and Chloe Ong; ROKU Atelier is an independent art & design studio which is open to the public for workshops and classes. They also host art, architecture and design exhibitions.
One of the founders' first collaborative projects in 2017 won the 1st prize at the Shelter International Architectural Design Competition in Tokyo, Japan. The final jury was held at the Tokyo International Forum and the judging panel was chaired by Yoshiharu Tsukamoto of Atelier Bow-Wow.
They believe in providing quality workshops by giving our customers all the expertise and advice they need on materials and techniques, regardless of skill level. They have also designed the best possible environment for art-making, to make sure everyone who comes by feels comfortable and at home in the space. Find out more about their classes and workshops here.
The Singapore Sports Hub launched the first sports, art and heritage walking trail titled The Kallang Story: A Sports, Arts and Heritage Trail, with the unveiling of the Merdeka Lions by Guest-of-Honour, Mr Baey Yam Keng, Senior Parliamentary Secretary of the Ministry of Culture, Community and Youth, and the Ministry of Transport. Mr Baey was joined by some 11 community groups for a guided tour of the trail, where they were taken on a journey of Kallang’s landmarks and the area’s vibrant history.
Mr Baey said: “There is a treasure trove of stories at Kallang. This was where many of our nation’s sporting memories were forged, and is also home to Singapore’s first civil international airport. I am heartened by this Kallang Story project, which documents some interesting elements of our heritage in the year of Singapore’s Bicentennial. I encourage everyone to come explore the area with familyand friends, relive old memories, and reflect on our Singapore Story.”
The new three-kilometre educational walking trail tells the story of Kallang through 18 heritage markers, artefacts, architecture, and new artworks sited around Singapore Sports Hub. These artworks are commissioned by Singapore Sports Hub to celebrate Kallang’s heritage and local talents. The artworks will be rolled out in phases. This walking trail is a community project supported by the National Heritage Board (NHB) in partnership with Sport Singapore and Republic Polytechnic. The launch is part of the Singapore Bicentennial commemoration 2019.
Members of the public can explore the 18 markers as one whole, or in three separate smaller walking trails - The Waterfront Trail, The Stadium Trail and The Park Trail. Each of the trails tells the Kallang story by highlighting prominent landmarks in the area, both past and present. The Waterfront Trailfaces the Kallang Basin, a body of water with a rich history going back at least 400 years and reveals the riverine communities who once called this area home, the traditional industries that contributed lasting place names, and the legacy of water sports. The Stadium Trail explores the grounds of the National Stadium and covers major architectural icons which played key roles in sports, politics, energy, aviation and entertainment in Singapore. The Park Trail ventures into the former grounds of Kallang Park, journeys through memories of the old Wonderland Amusement Park and ending in front of the Singapore Indoor Stadium.
The Merdeka Lions now sited at Stadium Roar, facing the Kallang Basin, are replicas of the original artefacts that were initially commissioned by the Public Works Department (renamed ‘CPD Corporation’) as part of the Merdeka Bridge that was built in 1955. With the widening of NicollHighway, the sculptures were then moved to Kallang Park, before being shifted to The SAFTI Military Institute.
Members of the public can look forward to spotting 14 uniquely designed repurposed benches made from the timber seats in the former National Stadium. The installation of the 14 benches has enlivened Sports Hub’s public spaces to build community interactions and create shared memories. This underscored the intent of this “Re:Bench” CommunityProject, a collaboration between Singapore Sports Hub and the Urban Redevelopment Authority.
Visitors can pick up self-guided tour maps of The Kallang Story: A Sports, Arts and Heritage Trail at the Sports Hub’s Visitors Centre at OCBC Square.
Embracing Orchard Road’s heritage as one of the original Straits Chinese enclaves in Singapore (circa 1800s), The Peranakan Gallery at Claymore Connect brings to life a rich tapestry of traditions that were once prevalent in the district — long before Orchard Road gained fame as the island’s most-visited tourist destination.
This newly-launched Place of Interest is a must-visit experience depicting the timeline and evolution of Straits Chinese culture in Singapore and South East Asia. Visually immersive and enriching, The Peranakan Gallery promises to be the Orchard precinct’s eminent ode to authentic Peranakan culture.
Thye Hua Kwan Temple will house a Hall of Filial Piety, where ancestral tablets will be placed. There will also be video screening facilities in the hall, where families can play videos of their loved ones in remembrance of them. The temple will also house Buddhist, Taoist and Confucian deities for worship and lecture halls where multi-religious dialogue will be held to promote inter racial and inter religious understanding. To promote Inter-Religious Harmony, that will be a library for the Sacred Books of all religions.
The newly reopened & renovated Masjid Darul Ghufran mosque in Tampines now has space for 5,500 worshippers to pray at one time making it the second largest mosque (after Assyakirin Mosque) in Singapore.
Located beside Our Tampines Hub, Masjid Darul Ghufran was first completed in December 1990.
Apart from structured, formal programmes, Darul Ghufran Mosque provides specialised religion courses to cater to a variety of needs and segments of society.