One of Singapore oldest mosques, Angullia Mosque, has reopened its doors for worshippers
Angullia Mosque has been an iconic landmark in the area of Serangoon Road and Little India for more than 120 years.
The Mosque was built on Wakaff land bequeathed by MSE Angullia. Still standing at its present site, the first blueprints of the Mosque was dated in 1890.
Since its initial construction somewhere in the late 1890s, several upgrading works have been undertaken to maintain its functionality and relevance to its immediate community.
Angullia Mosque serves a large community of Muslims within the Serangoon Road district and many of their congregants include both the local and foreign workforce within the Serangoon Road business district.
222 Arts Club is Singapore’s newest multifaceted event space. This 5,000 sqft space is located within walking distance from the art’s district, in Bras Basah. The space offers a unique environment for brands, producers and agencies masses of creative, flexible and inspiring setups.
Day and night, it can accommodate for larger events or smaller groups for an intimate setting. The space is the ultimate blank canvas for exclusive private events, conferences, art exhibitions, concerts, product launches, photoshoots and filming.
The arts, music and culture have the power to enrich the creative scene. 222 Arts Club's mission is to support the arts community to achieve their vision for the city being a diverse and distinctive arts hub that can inspire, connect and position Singapore globally.
Curating international arts initiatives and music gigs ensures local communities are exposed first hand to the best local and global talents. Both serving the community and raising the bar for aspiring creatives, artists and musicians.
Experience art that comes alive with Patrick Bezalel, a Singapore-based artist who creates artworks inspired by his Christian faith.
Patrick’s ongoing series explores hyperrealism paintings that depict the various aspects of Yeshua and His words in the bible. Consisting of thousands of painstaking strokes over hundreds of hours on his iPad media, each painting is then produced on metal print in limited edition copies.
Patrick is inspired by Yeshua and the bible in his hyperrealism drawings. His vision is for anyone who sees his art to be reminded of Yeshua and His grace. View Patrick Bezalel's collection at their new mall gallery at Millenia Walk or at their Eunos avenue studio with a prior appointment.
The Singapore Buddhist Lodge on Kim Yam Road has recently celebrated its 85th anniversary with the opening of a new worship hall and the consecration of a golden Buddha statue.
The Singapore Buddhist Lodge was first known as The Singapore Buddhist Sutra Distribution Center. Following a series of expansion preparations, The Singapore Buddhist Lodge was established in 17 June 1934. After which the Lodge continues to expand, and charitable programmes are added to benefit all good friends of the public.
Embark on a journey to the east, along the Pasir Ris Heritage Trail. This trail is indeed an adventure to take, with its name derived from the Malay words ‘pasir’ and ‘hiris’ which mean ‘sand’ and ‘to slice or shred’. Go beyond the surface, as you uncover the golden memories and historic heritage of this happening place.
Go on this trail as you explore the history and heritage of Pasir Ris through the stories of the people who have lived, worked and played here, as well as the institutions they have built over the decades.
Housed within the Gallery's Rotunda, located at the heart of the UOB Southeast Asia Gallery, it is a site of historical importance and now serves as a research hub for the study of art history in Singapore and Southeast Asia.
No prior appointments need to be made or admission tickets need to be purchased to enter the Rotunda Library & Archive. However, users must register at the counter to access the collection.
National Gallery Singapore was established in 2015 as a leading visual arts institution overseeing the world’s largest public collection of Singapore and Southeast Asian modern and contemporary art. Guided by its curatorial vision to present the art histories of Singapore and Southeast Asia; reflexively (re)write the art histories of Singapore and Southeast Asia; and examine these art histories in relation to the global history of art, the Gallery has developed a significant collection of artists’ archives and a reference library focusing on Singapore and Southeast Asian art.
The Gallery’s Rotunda, located at the heart of the UOB Southeast Asia Gallery (Level 3, Supreme Court Wing), is a site of historical importance. During the building’s former life as the Supreme Court of Singapore, the Rotunda served as the Law Library. Housed in this historical space, the Rotunda Library & Archive extends the memory of this site while serving a new function as a research hub for the study of art history in Southeast Asia.
The Rotunda Library & Archive aims to be a leading library housing one of the world’s most comprehensive collections of Singapore and Southeast Asian art-historical resources from the 19th, 20th and 21st centuries.
Their collection currently holds over 20,000 physical and digital items, including rare publications, exhibition catalogues, ephemera and digital archives, made possible through generous donations, publication exchanges with various art institutions in the region, and partnerships with the estates of Southeast Asian modern art pioneers, such as Georgette Chen and Lim Hak Tai (Singapore), S. Sudjojono (Indonesia) and Kalaw Ledesma Foundation (the Philippines).
Most archival acquisitions are conducted through loans or donations from the archives’ owners (artists, artists’ families, estates and art communities). The Library & Archive preserves the donated physical archives and digitises loaned archives.
A large selection of materials in their Library & Archive collection is searchable here (You will be redirected to their Collections Search Portal). Due to copyright restrictions and levels of permission from the archive owners, some items are only available for viewing onsite. You can view these items in the Collections Search Portal with our digital viewing facility at the Gallery’s Rotunda Library & Archive.
St. Joseph’s Institution (SJI) has opened a new heritage gallery, in commemoration of Singapore's bicentennial year and the Tercentenary1 of the Founder of the Institute of the Brothers of the Christian Schools – St. John Baptist de La Salle. Named Missio 1852, the gallery showcases 167 years of Josephian history and Lasallian heritage, tradition and community in Singapore. This project is supported by the National Heritage Board and the Singapore Bicentennial Office.
Founded by the De La Salle Brothers in 1852, St. Joseph’s Institution (SJI) is an independent Catholic school, whose mission is to nurture students to learn how to learn and to learn how to live, so that they can be empowered to grow into men and women of integrity and men and women for others. For over 167 years, SJI has nurtured thousands of men and women who have served the society locally and globally. Missio 1852 celebrates the contributions and achievements of the school and of these alumni who have served the society in different ways throughout the century.
The highlights of Missio 1852 include:
Profiles of distinguished Josephians – Thousands of illustrious Josephians have graduated from the gates and halls of SJI since 1852. Amongst them include Former 7th President Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam, DPM Teo Chee Hean, Mr Philip Yeo, Prof Leo Tan Wee Hin, Prof Jeremy Monteiro, Justice Chan Seng Onn, whose profiles are featured in Missio 1852.
The Brothers’ Logbook – The La Salle Brothers meticulously kept annual logbooks such as these, detailing notable events like inter-school competitions, important visitors to the school, spiritual bouquets and civics group meetings. It was the practice for the Brother Director to keep a diary/logbook to record key events throughout the school year, to help him when he prepares the annual report to be sent to Rome.
The Founder’s Banner – As part of the school’s emphasis on rituals and symbolism, this Founder’s banner was frequently used in events like the celebration of the apparition ofour Lady of Fatimah in the 1950s. Out of the traditional three banners used, only this one remains. These banners were originally stored away in a camphor wood chest in the Brothers’ Quarters.
The Grandfather Clock that has survived the Japanese Occupation – This clock once stood on the verandah of the Brothers' House and called all therein to prayers and class. During WWII, shrapnel damaged the clock and the marks have been preserved in its restoration. Holes on both sides indicated where shrapnel entered the clock, hit the back of the pendulum and exited on the opposite side.
Missio 1852 is open to SJI students and staff members during school hours during term time. Visit www.sji.edu.sg for details.